

October 1, 2019

Dear UMBC Colleagues,

President Hrabowski and Provost Rous have announced the annual solicitation of nominations for the following staff awards:

- USM Board of Regents Awards
- Presidential Distinguished Staff Awards
- The Jakubik Family Endowment Staff Award
- The Karen L. Wensch Endowment Award for Outstanding Non-Exempt Staff

We all know that the work of exceptional staff is a very important part of what placed UMBC as a top-10 national leader in both innovation and undergraduate teaching in 2019 (*U.S. News & World Report*) and in the top 3.3% of universities worldwide.

Whether working in the forefront or behind the scenes, staff hold key positions across the campus supporting UMBC's mission and success.

We need your help to identify and nominate the very best of UMBC's outstanding exempt and non-exempt staff members for these awards. We ask the campus community to pause just once a year to (1) think about who are the staff whose extraordinary contributions deserve to be recognized, and (2) take the time to nominate these deserving staff, so the whole campus can celebrate their contributions to UMBC's success. We believe it is more important than ever to recognize outstanding staff.

Please take a moment now to visit the website http://provost.umbc.edu/staffawards/. Here you will easily find:

- Criteria and eligibility for each award
- Nomination form
- Directions for submitting one nomination letter and candidate resume (or professional history form, see website)

Note that there is a new Board of Regents award for excellence in advancing inclusion, multiculturalism, and social justice.

The deadline to submit nominations is November 1, 2019. Thank you so much for your help!

The Staff Awards Committee (SAC)

Bobby Lubaszewski, President -- PSS Jessica Wyatt, Vice President--PSS Diana Smith, President -- NESS Fritzie Charne-Merriwether, Stude

Diana Smith, President – NESS Fritzie Charne-Merriwether, Student Affairs Valerie Thomas, 2018-19 Presidential Distinguished Professional Staff Award, Exempt Staff

Liz Steenrod, 2018-19 Presidential Distinguished Staff Award, Non-Exempt Staff