Faculty and Staff Care and Belonging Committee

The Faculty and Staff Care and Belonging Committee is a committee dedicated to supporting our caregiving population. This committee was originally convened as the Faculty Caregiving Advisory Committee in Spring 2021 by Provost Rous to “provide counsel and advise the Provost and Council of Deans on the provision of post-Covid-19 support for faculty caregivers whose research, teaching and service has been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic.” This committee was expanded in Fall 2023 to include staff representation. Our committee is tasked with conducting outreach and engaging in consultation with a wide range of campus stakeholders, including campus leadership.

The 2023 -2024 members are:


Orianne Smith, Chair, Special Assistant to the Provost, English.





Mark Berczynski, COEIT Dean’s Office. mb15@umbc.edu

Makeba Ellis, Division of Professional Studies. miri@umbc.edu

Joanna Gadsby, Library. gadsby@umbc.edu


Lindsay Johnson, Music.





Nancy Kusmaul, Social Work.






Jennifer Mata-McMahon, Education.





Jess Wyatt, Alumni Engagement.